top of page

The North East Winnipeg Historical Society Inc. (2010) records and preserves the histories of North Kildonan, East Kildonan and Elmwood for present and future generations.

We respect the history of all and acknowledge the custodians and traditional keepers of this territory on which we reside.

Join us on Saturday, May 27 at 11:00 a.m. or Sunday, May 28 at 1:00 p.m. for a special Doors Open walking tour, Essar Anything to See Here?

On this tour we are in a quiet little gem of a neighbourhood. We will hear the ‘tale of two bridges’, a history of the Kildonan Canoe Club circa 1930, the North Kildonan Municipality office and the Reeve S.R. Henderson who is the namesake of Henderson Hwy. We will end with a short walk under Kildonan Settler Bridge to the north side where we will see the outlet of McLeod Creek, our ‘hidden areas waterway', into the mighty Red River.

The tour meeting/starting point is at the corner of Essar Avenue and Kildonan Drive.
Eric De Schepper photographing Henderson House

Eric De Schepper photographing Henderson House 2018

bottom of page